Skip to content

Reviews

BOOM!  by Cindy Joseph ~

PRODUCT REVIEW

By popular request I am submitting products that I have tried and will provide my FacingFifty Review!

Confession time first.  I love make-up.  I do. It’s a thing I’ve done since I was ‘allowed” to wear some (in my teens).   I have tried just about every eye-color out there, I have tried high-end and “a-hem” low-end foundations (hey, you never know when the perfect one will show up) and I am pretty sure that I am addicted to lipstick.  Gloss, lip color, stain and more gloss. You name it.  Right now in my purse I have 10 different lip sticks and glosses. From Chanel to NYC.   I’ve even tried to plump up my lips with that burning plumper lipgloss, because my top lip is kind of thin (and getting thinner with age) but seriously I do not condone pain for the sake of a fat lip.  I’ve tried lotions from Dove to Dr. Perricone.  And moisturizer.  Oh, I will search high-and low for a good moisturizer.

Then I came across BOOM! by Cindy Joseph.  I found her name cross-posted on FB and contacted her office to see if they would send me some samples for my first review.  A few days later  a box arrived. In it was 3 small tubes, (can fit in your hand).  BOOMstick Glo, BOOMstick Color and BOOMstick Glimmer.  And a 4 oz jar of BOOMsilk.

I started with the tubes. The BOOMstick Glo  is made of all-natural ingredients; organic virgin oil, organic beeswax, vitamin E, organic pollen and organic propolis and ……  It glides over my skin and I looked very glowy.  I’ve since learned to use this sparingly.  I love it on my lips.

Second tube I tried was the BOOMstick Color.  This is meant to be the perfect color for any skin tone.  It can be used on your lips, your cheeks even your eyelids.  I tried all the spots (including high on my forehead and in the hollow of my neck).

The final tube is BOOMstick Glimmer.  I really love this champagne color.  It instantly makes my cheekbones glow.  I use it on my cheekbone, my clavacle, the corner of my eyes (inside and out) and on the lip color.  Love this!!!

BOOM! by Cindy Joseph

And finally, the glorious BOOMsilk.  I have another confession to make here.  The BOOMsilk was meant to be a giveaway. But after I read about it I realized that it was one of the most important aspects of the BOOM! experience.   I made an executive decision and felt it would be better for me to review the moisturizer properly.  I have used this every night and sometimes in the morning for nearly two months. I’ve used it on my face and hands.  One of the reasons I was looking for something natural and moisturizing is that my skin is dry and I’ve noticed that it’s been looking dull. Not any more!!

“Handmade by beekeepers in Hawaii with 100% organic ingredients, BOOMSILK will moisturize, heal and protect every inch of your face and body.” ~from BOOMSILK.

By now, I’m sure you can tell this review is a very positive one.  The BOOM! by Cindy Joseph product has made me a fan, addicted to more.

I was able to interview Cindy about the business, the product and her philosophy on women and the embracement of your age. None of that “anti-aging” talk!   It was a fascinating interview that I’ll be posting.  Please stay tuned.

In the meantime; please check out BOOM! by Cindy Jospeph you will not be disappointed.  www.boombycindyjoseph.com  and do please let me know what you think of this review!

Cheers!

Lori

Advertisements
15 Comments leave one →
  1. Cathy permalink
    June 14, 2012 2:52 pm

    I agree, Lori! My short term experience with Boom! products is amazing! I love the Boomsilk! In only about 10 days of use, my pores are smaller, my skin is soft and smooth and it just feels good on! Boom!color is so good, too! I love the glow it gives my skin without make up that dulls the skin instead of bringing out the natural blush that we have. What a great time for this in my life, as I am also growing out my hair and discovering it’s natural color and shine. Using hair color to give me highlights was crazy because now I have natural highlights of beautiful gray tones!

    • Lori permalink
      June 15, 2012 4:09 pm

      Cathy,
      Yes! Isn’t it great!? Just this week I traveled for business and packed THREE things in my make up bag — that usually had been filled with stuff (and who knows what was in all that stuff anyways!). Congrats on growing out your hair color — I struggle with that one because in my minds-eye I’ve always seen myself with blonde hair (highlights), and whenever I let my hair coloring go I just don’t like how my natural color looks against my skin. I don’t have enough gray yet. If my hair follows my Father’s, he didn’t start showing significant gray hair until his late 70’s.

      Cheers! Lori

  2. Eleanor Wolf permalink
    June 15, 2012 11:40 am

    I agree…the products are great and her whole Pro Age Revolution idea is sorely needed!

    • Lori permalink
      June 15, 2012 4:10 pm

      Eleanor ~ I completely agree with you — Pro Age all the way! ~ Cheers, Lori

  3. Eu Sei permalink
    June 30, 2015 7:18 pm

    The worse feature of BOOM lipsticks is that the product basically melts and turns into mush if your restroom is heated in winter time. The wide lipstick is difficult to apply. Then if you are able to apply it and clean around the mess, it starts melting, terrible. I contacted them, Joseph sent me another and it was the exact same problem. Mine are sitting in my bathroom closet, never used.

    • Lori permalink*
      November 22, 2016 10:37 pm

      Well, I’m sorry to hear that for you Eu Sei. I do understand how the wide tube can be a problem, I found that I would use my finger to transfer from the stick to my lips. I never had melting problem. I’m glad they sent a replacement. But it sounds like that doesn’t resolve the issue for you. Lori

  4. Sajee orrison permalink
    July 11, 2015 5:38 pm

    I just read about the product on Pinterest and very interested. I am a 50 years old Asian, I have tried many products to even out my skin tone, dark spots, blemishes (which I still get it on a regular basis) I am currently using 3-steps cleansing and 3 different moisturizers twice daily still not satisfy with the result. I am willing to give this products a try. My question is do you truly not using any foundation, powder or eyeshadow all together? Please enlighten me, thank you.

    • Lori permalink*
      November 22, 2016 10:39 pm

      Hi Sajee, I do use foundation if I am feel the need (I have those age spots) but I’m really trying to embrace a natural look, I love the shimmer and lip color. If you try it I’d love to hear back. Lori

  5. Nancy permalink
    February 2, 2016 3:41 pm

    I am starting to love Boomsilk,very moisturizing and great for aging skin.Glad I tried it. Wonderful for face and body.

  6. Nancy permalink
    October 12, 2016 4:46 pm

    Thanks for the review. I tried it today for the 1st time and didn’t love it. I feel like my face looks blotchy and red. Maybe I didn’t use enough?

    • Lori permalink*
      November 22, 2016 10:31 pm

      Hi Nancy, My skin is usually very dry so I really enjoy BOOM! it is very hydrating for me. I do know that sometimes when you introduce a new product to your face it can break out. How is it working for you now? Lori

  7. Lee permalink
    October 13, 2016 4:19 am

    are you still using these products and do you still recommend them? I have uneven skin tones and am curious about whether or not to try these.

    • Lori permalink*
      November 22, 2016 10:34 pm

      Hi Lee, I still recommend Boom! I need to re-order actually. I have some age spots and this won’t cover them up — if I need that I’ll use a foundation. I really love the shimmer and lip/cheek/eye color. I enjoy the simplicity of the product too. So easy to take with you. I hope this helps! Lori

  8. sassy permalink
    February 19, 2017 3:34 pm

    Well, I just got my broomstick color in the mail and I couldn’t wait to use it. I was a little surprised by the color, I was
    told this was a bronzer so the burgundy threw me off.

    Basically this product is not for the 55 and over crowd, don’t be fooled. It is very greasy and if you are in menopause, that’s the last thing you want. Being greasy and sweaty is not attractive. I am also black with medium to dark skin toned. this is not for my skin tone either. as a blush it is too dark and greasy, it looks awful on my forehead, just greasy and for my lips it’s ok but not practical to use because of it’s shape.

    For the price and use of this product, you can certainly do a lot better. I won’t repurchase. If this lady were smart, she would have included samples of the others. I read that the glimmer is good, but I refuse to spend another $27 (plus an outrageous $8.35 for shipping) to try it. Not worth the risk.

    • Lori permalink*
      February 20, 2017 2:37 pm

      HI Sassy, It sounds like your order got mixed up. The burgundy as you found out is for eyes, cheeks and lips. When I first used it I used too much and on my light skin it was jarring. I learned to use less. I tend to have dry skin so the olive oil base is something I really appreciate.

      I do like the tube applicator for travel and as a “does it all” type of color and I agree the glimmer is great – my favorite. It would be nice if the sticks were available without the shipping cost. I’m sure there is a send back policy if you aren’t happy with it.

      Thank you for reading and your feedback!

      Lori

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: