Skip to content

My Dubious Moment

April 18, 2011

Okay, this might not be SO dubious at the time, however, it turned out to be a defining moment for me.
Several years ago, at a board meeting filled with mostly men and a few  women. I was asked to fill in for someone who was under the weather. I was excited, and nervous all at the same time.

After talking about a few items on the agenda I was instructed to introduce the next speaker, a board member who I thought was one of the most thoughtful and engaging members of the organization.

As I introduced him,  I said (and here I choke — I mean quote) “It is my dubious honor to introduce you to …….”

The man in question straightened his tie and said..”Ah, dubious…” and I, feeling pleased with my introduction, moved myself to the back of the room to relish the moment of my mini-stardom.

Later, a co-worker mentioned to me that the word dubious, might not have been much of a compliment.

Hmmm. I could have sworn I’ve heard that word used in complimentary ways…  I immediately found a dictionary and to my utter horror found the following description of the word dubious:

: giving rise to uncertainty: asa : of doubtful promise or outcome <a dubious plan>b : questionable or suspect as to true nature or quality <the practice is of dubious legality>
: unsettled in opinion :doubtful <I was dubious about the plan>

Ack!  This painful memory still haunts me!  I cannot even explain myself, except to say that I thought at the time what I was saying was “it is my distinct honor to introduce……” .

I don’t know if I’ve completely recovered from this bomb of mine.  I do know that I have learned some good lessons from it.

  • I’ve learned to pause before speaking
  • to write my words out before speaking
  • and to read the dictionary every day.

Today’s word:  Humility

: the quality or state of being humble
  1. Examples of Humility:
  1. He accepted the honor with humility.
  1. The ordeal taught her humility.
2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jack permalink
    April 18, 2011 7:08 pm

    Thanks for having the courage to share an awkward moment! Mine came when I attempted to converse with a spanish speaking person who understood little English.

    I wanted to say I am embarrased, so I used what I thought was the correct spanish word: embarsada.

    So instead of saying I am embarrased, I said: I am pregnant! The look of puzzlement on the mans face was priceless!

  2. Lori permalink
    April 18, 2011 9:08 pm

    Sad to say Jack, I may have more of those awkward moments. I’m glad to be at a place where I can own the things I’ve said and done and let them go. No more holding on!
    I would have loved to have seen that mans face!

Leave a Reply

