Skip to content

A disturbance in the Force

March 15, 2011

In the original Star Wars film, the Force is first described by Jedi Master Obi-Wan Kenobi as an energy field created by all living things, that surrounds and penetrates living beings and binds the galaxy together.

Funny thing about movies.  I always seemed to have missed the “big” ones when they came out in the theater.  When Star Wars came out I couldn’t have cared less. Indiana Jones, yawn.  And then, I  watched those movies, years later, on small screen, and finally found out what all those before me already knew.

I’m not here to to talk about movies, really.  I want to talk about something that has happened a few days ago.  On March 11, 2011 one of the largest earthquakes ever recorded (in Japan) hit the island of Japan.  Not only was the earthquake devastating, but the resulting tsunami that followed has killed thousands and crippled a country.

I have been both spellbound and speechless by this awful tragedy.  My mind cannot comprehend the devastation.  I see the photos, the images and I still do not compute.  This is not in my category of images that my brain has reviewed.

Why did I start this with a discussion about Star Wars?  Because, ever since this event I have had this nagging feeling.  A malaise, a melencholy, a sort of depression that I couldn’t put my finger on. What is it?

Here is what, the what is that there has been a disturbance in the force.  Yes, as in Jedi terms.  Humanity has been thrust in a terrible, traumatic, devastating destruction of life and loss. Their lives, for those who have survived, will never be the same. The land has shifted, the images embedded in their minds.

What I do know, is that I have felt it. A shift in my soul, a stirring of my spirit.  I know lives have passed and I know thousands of fellow human beings are stranded, cold, desperate and lost. They  have lost family, friends and more than we may ever know.

My heart is heavy and the loss is felt.  I know that many others feel the same way, and maybe, just maybe we can shift our energy to a positive healing force and send to those who have lost their most precious companions, family members and friends.

And of course, do whatever we can though all the organizations that are rallying together to help our friends in Japan.

https://www.networkforgood.org/donation/MakeDonation.aspx?ORGID2=530196605&source=YAHOO&cmpgn=NEWS&vlrStratCode=mFiOKIT04TWTWKlF4QdAFfIWFvJiICJvO%2b9KD69KhP9Y6u%2bPyO1oiWdygDuEGbMu

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jack permalink
    March 15, 2011 5:16 pm

    Lori,
    Thanks for sharing your feelings about this. I went through the Loma Prieta Quake in 1989. In point of fact, I lived about 10 miles from the Embarcedaro freeway, where all those lives were lost.

    In the days following I got a sense of sadness, and felt the loss personally. Maybe it was because those people were my neighbors. That is how we should feel about the people of Japan right now.

    If I have seen anything posistive about this, it is the amazing way the Japanese people have been conducting themselves. Virtually no looting or me first attitudes. That is something the world should watch and meditate on, because it is a great lesson in the face of tragedy.

    I want to help not just because help is needed, but you want to help amazing people like that.

    • Lori permalink
      March 15, 2011 11:59 pm

      Jack — It really took me a while to identify and then write about the thoughts and feelings I had about this horrible event.
      I love that you have shined a light on the beauty of how the people – our neighbors – of Japan have handled this tragedy. With such dignity.
      Thank you for sharing your words. – As always, Lori

Leave a Reply

