Skip to content

A Gesture So Small

March 5, 2011

This past week I traveled to Long Island  for business.  At the end of the day I stopped at a gas station.  As I stepped out of the car I noticed the most amazing sunset.  The colors were so brilliant, purple and pink, the sky glowed purple.  I was awestruck.  So much so that I pointed the sunset out to a guy who had just pulled up to pump gas.   I didn’t even think about it, I just wanted to share that with someone else.  The man said he noticed it in his rear view mirror.  Then we both resumed pumping gas.

As I got ready to get into my car, the man peeked his head between the gas pumps and said, “Excuse me, I just wanted to say thank you for sharing that with me.”

We got in our cars and I smiled all the way back to the hotel.  I bet he was smiling too.

I don’t know what was more special in that moment, that I felt compelled to share a sunset with a stranger, or that the stranger thanked me for pointing it out?

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

