Skip to content

Connections that Count

February 19, 2011

Awhile ago I talked about how much I love the social network.  Born a social butterfly, it was a natural fit for me.  Sort of.  Nothing gets me higher than meeting people face to face.  Yet, I must say that some of the most interesting things I’ve learned lately, is from my new social network friends.

So, here’s why I love connecting on the internet; I find out things I never knew before, I meet people, I’ve never met, nor probably never would have met, if not for the internet and I get a chance to lurk around my friends and family without bugging them with incessant questions.

Let me show you a great example of internet connections.  I “met” a woman on FaceBook, Gina McNew, she has a website called “hip to be hot”.  I also had a website (note the word “had”) called “hip2bcool”.  I just knew Gina and I needed to connect.  And we did.  Gina is from Georgia, I’m from New York.  We typically have a LOT of snow, they typically do NOT.  Yet, this year for whatever reason (maybe just plain ol’ Mother Nature” ) Georgia finally got some snow.  Gina posted that she wanted to do something with the snow.  After a few posts, a post came in from a woman; Lotta Lindh. Lotta is from Sweden. She told Gina that in Sweden, it is common for children and adults to build snow lights.  These globes/lights can be seen throughout the night.

I’ve lived in New York my entire life (except for a brief excursion to Florida – that, well, doesn’t count), and I’ve never heard of these snow lights.  Once the snow became perfect snowball material I enlisted my daughter Olivia and our neighbor Abi to help build a snow light.

This snow light that you see is a direct result from social networking.

What have YOU learned or connection have you made through the internet?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 19, 2011 4:09 pm

    What a fun post to read, Lori, and so glad you enjoyed making the snow light! =)

    I’ve also connected with lots of absolutely wonderful people via the internet, and especially through FB.

    What I’ve learned? I’ve learned a lot of different things from social networking, one being that I get to know about different cultures from my friends and clients in different countries, especially those from India and UAE.
    Learning it first hand, you do get another understanding about their lives compared to what you read in news media… quite interesting!

    Glad to get to know you, Lori!

    • Lori permalink
      February 19, 2011 4:25 pm

      The snow light made a big impression on my kids (I may have been more excited though — I kept peeking through the curtains to see it — it stayed lit for quite a while and had the most beautiful glow)!

      I”m glad to get to know you too Lotta!! (and thank you again for passing on the snow light legacy)!

  2. Jack permalink
    February 19, 2011 4:32 pm

    The greatest thrill I’ve had on Facebook was finding my Kindergarten teacher after 45 years! How can you ever thank the person who taught you how to read and write? It was one of the most meaningful things, I’ve ever done in my life.

  3. Lori permalink
    February 20, 2011 2:17 pm

    Jack — Isn’t that wonderful! I would have loved to have seen the teacher’s face when you found them! My kindergarten teacher recently passed away she was 91 years old. The posts on the funeral website were so heartwarming. I hope teachers really know how much they can impact our lives. Lori

Leave a Reply

