Skip to content

Massive storm begins trek across Midwest – Yahoo! News

February 1, 2011

Massive storm begins trek across Midwest – Yahoo! News.  They say history repeats itself.  42 years ago I celebrated my 10th birthday, snowed in with my brothers, sisters and six cousins.  I was furious with that storm.  How dare it snow in all these people on my birthday?!! And so I began my “strike” against the storm.  I stood on my head. For a very long time. In protest.

My  bratty protest induced my parents to travel on snowmobile through treacherous snow 5 miles to the local village and purchase a few things to appease the little girl, standing on her head in the living room.

It was a birthday I will never, ever forget. I remember my Mother making me a cake , a “burnt sugar cake” and receiving a pair of pajamas and a book of paper doll cut-outs.

So here we are with snow at our doorsteps, joined in this national weather related event. I will not be standing on my head this time, I don’t think it will help.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

