Skip to content

Best Advice Ever

January 28, 2011

This is a question I love to ask people. What is the best advice you were ever given?
I’ve mulled over this question myself, since I’ve had a lot of advice come my way.   Then, when it resonates in a way I’ve never quite experienced, that is when I know it is good advice.  I used to give advice, unsolicited. And found out the hard way, that most people don’t take too well to that.   I always thought I was being “helpful”.  Lucky for me I had some good people around me who said ,  “it’s just annoying and bossy and presumptious of you to do that.” Ouch! That hurt. That may have been some of the best advice I’ve ever been given though.  Another great piece of advice;  “Listen 90% of the time Talk 10%”, and yes, that one is a lesson in progress.

I’ve loved some of the business advice I’ve been given throughout the years; from a PR professional, “Never, repeat the negative sentence that a reporter says to you” (funny how those words, even though you were only repeating them, can come back to haunt you.) And, from a CEO of a large corporation, “All good marketing professionals, will follow what the sales department says closely”. Advice from a good friend, “Let the world see the beautiful, gifted, joyful child that you hold inside of you.” Advice from a “table manners guru”; “When someone asks for the salt, pass both the salt and pepper”, this advice really goes to the heart of being a good host, even when it isn’t your party and you are a guest.

I really do enjoy receiving good advice.  I would love to hear your “best advice ever” stories.  Who knows what we can learn from each other?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 28, 2011 6:37 pm

    It might sound like a cliche, but the best advice I’ve been given by my Mum was about being newly married. She said, never go to bed on an argument and at first when my hubby and I were first married we fell out a fair bit. After all, we were young and it was the first time either of us had lived away from our parents! But it was all too easy to have a bit of an argument, or to have a tiff after work and then just take the argument to bed but as we found, it just made it more difficult to break the ice and back down in the morning. It took us a while but we learned that solving the issue before going to bed meant that we woke up as friends, rather than having a frosty couple of days until one or either of us made the move to speak to the other. Great advice and I’m happy to pass it on!!

  2. Lori permalink
    January 28, 2011 6:46 pm

    I think that is really excellent advice. I remember my mother-in-law telling me that the best advice her mother gave her was “say you are sorry”. Amazing how such simple things can make such a big difference. Thank you for sharing!

  3. Jack permalink
    January 28, 2011 10:47 pm

    Hi Lori,
    I grew up with a family of deep faith. The best advice I think was from my Grandfather who told me prayer is the light switch that turns the power on. Don’t ever let your kness get lazy!

  4. Lori permalink
    January 29, 2011 12:08 am

    Hi Jack — Well that is one of the dearest things I’ve ever heard. Thank you for sharing that. Lori

  5. January 30, 2011 6:06 pm

    This is from my wife’s father. I’ve made a lot of good friends this way: “The best way to make a new friend is to ask someone to do you a favor.”

    • Lori permalink
      January 31, 2011 3:38 pm

      Thom — I think that is great advice. People usually love to help others. 🙂

Leave a Reply

