Skip to content

Letting Go

January 14, 2011

Not too long ago I was fighting with myself. I fought the notion that I had to do something a certain way. I railed against the fact that I needed to do something. I accepted a job. I know, how ungrateful is that? I thought, if I take this job I will lose my dreams of owning my own business, of being the captain of my ship. I thought, if I take this job I will be giving up a piece of myself. So I railed. And I complained and made myself and probably a few important people around me, miserable. And then I had a very brief encounter with someone who said something so simple to me that in reflection, I wonder why I took so long to see it? She said to me — why are you upset about having a job? Its a source of income, right? And you can have as many sources as you want, right?” And my lightbulb went off. Of course I can have as many as I want. And with that simple thought I let go of my angst about taking a job. And when I let go, I opened up. Really, it was that simple. I let go of the anger I was having, the “lost dream” feelings I was having and I opened up to the idea that the job was just ONE income source. Amazing. I embraced the work I was doing, the people I was working with and sure enough, everything began to work, the job became easier and less stressful, the people less dominating (to me) and my blood pressure went down.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jack permalink
    January 14, 2011 2:42 pm

    Great point Lori, and having a job opens up a world of networking opportunties, that are essentital in starting a business.

Leave a Reply

