Skip to content

Are you a Social Butterfly?

January 7, 2011

When I was in Kindergarten my teacher, Mrs. Saddlemire, wrote; “Lori is like a little butterfly, flitting here and there”.  I love that analogy, me a butterfly.  I have found Facebook is a perfect place for a social butterfly like myself.  I’ve met people whom I would never have had the chance to meet in person.   When Facebook was introduced to me (by my son, when he was in college) it seemed so foreign to me.  I thought, how could a social butterfly like me interact with people from around the world, without ever having physical contact?  I quickly found out how.  My intuitive nature has helped me find people that are interesting, smart and insightful (because that’s who I wanted to find).  I reach out to them and then find out how to engage with them.  Just today, I spent time on the phone with Gina McNew, founder of It’s Hip to be Hot!  I was originally drawn to Gina because of the name of her website, I too, had a website with a similar name, I saw other similarities between the two of us and just knew one day we would find a way to connect beyond the world of Facebook.  I’m so glad I am a social butterfly, or I never would have met all the people I have met, including the fabulously funny Gina.  So, I ask the question, are you a social butterfly and if so, how do you find your way to meet new people?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jack permalink
    January 7, 2011 9:45 pm

    Well, Mother always said not to speak to strangers, but I threw that rule out years ago! iItalk to people in checkout lines, at bus stops, during intermission in theatre lobbbies, and many other places.

  2. Lori permalink
    January 7, 2011 9:54 pm

    Ohh! Me too Jack. Goldie Hawn said her Mother said about her that “Goldie has never met a stranger.” I drive my family crazy sometimes yakking it up (you’ll see in some of my blog posts about the poor folks who sat next to me on airplanes.” Hopefully my enthusiasm and interest in others isn’t too irritating!

Leave a Reply

