Skip to content

Grrrrrrrrr Power.

July 30, 2010

This morning my nine-year old daughter asked me a question that really shook me up. She wanted to know what it meant when someone called you a dumb blonde. When I asked her where she heard that, she said it was from a substitute teacher. HE apparently was prodding her to answer the question a little faster and said “Tick, Tick, Tick, the clock is ticking are you going to answer or be a dumb blonde?”. Before she could answer, a classmate, another girl said “Hey, I’m blonde” and had just answered the question correctly.

I’m going to admit, years ago, I was guilty of passing along insensitive dumb blonde jokes. I know that it was one of those deflective moves that I used to do when I was little, make fun of myself before someone makes fun of me. WEll, now that I’m grown and aware of the ramifications of such words and actions, I just cannot tolerate it.

I have a nine-year old daughter who is now questioning her intelligence. Questioning how do other people perceive her? They don’t even know her and she could be wondering or assuming that she is dumb by virtue of her hair? These words have an impact in ways we cannot imagine.

Right here is where I can cite all sorts of data and links to incidents of this, but this is about me, it’s about my daughter, it’s about all the girls and boys who hear a word a negative comment and internalize it. I’m grateful that my daughter told me about it, now we can address it.

Let’s stop the jokes, the insensitive remarks. Let’s think, before we speak. And know that our remarks can define us and impact others.

I am going to leave this quote though ~

“Carefully watch your thoughts, for they become your words. Manage and watch your words, for they will become your actions. Consider and judge your actions, for they have become your habits. Acknowledge and watch your habits, for they shall become your values. Understand and embrace your values, for they become your destiny.” Mahatma Gandhi

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

