Skip to content

I just got carded and it feels so wrong.

March 21, 2009

I know, I know. Remember when getting carded really stunk (when you were around 22 and they wouldn’t let you buy a drink?) then somewhere around my mid 40’s I noticed I wasn’t asked for my drivers license anymore. I was okay with that. Really. But feel free, young man to ask for my license — if only to be nice — you know, do a good deed for the day.

The card I’ve been receiving for the last 4 months (since my birthday) is yes, THE card. AARP. It has arrived. Kind of like those reports you get from Social Security, that history of your work, your wages, its so real. AARP. That’s the card old people get, right? I’ve left every letter from them unopened but one, the first one, which I opened out of curiosity. I have lots of friends who tell me that the AARP has great programs and a really great magazine with celebs like Alan Arkin, Jamie Lee Curtis and others. They offer great deals in health care, financial programs, discounts on travel, home security and major retailers.

I understand they have a foundation as well and they created the Divided we Fail initiative to end gridlock and demand bi-partisan solutions. I love the idea of pooling resources and committing to positive change.

It took me a while to find out what AARP stood for. I guess they needed to re-brand and so according to sources: AARP, formerly the American Association of Retired Persons, is a “United States-based non-governmental organization and interest group. According to its mission statement,[1] it is “a nonprofit, nonpartisan membership organization for people age 50 and over … dedicated to enhancing quality of life for all as we age,” which “provides a wide range of unique benefits, special products, and services for our members.” AARP operates as a non-profit advocate for its members and as one of the most powerful lobbying groups in the United States, and it also sells insurance, investment funds and other financial products. AARP claims over 35 million members,[2] making it one of the largest membership organizations for people age 50 and over in the United States. Membership is expected to grow significantly as baby boomers age.”

Its all good. I know. But for some reason of which I can’t explain I just can’t propel myself to open any more of those envelopes asking me to join. Maybe some day. Right?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 21, 2009 8:31 pm

    I don’t drink or smoke, but I do buy the nasties for my hubby – and get carded all the time. Cripes! I’m 43 – jeez!

    When I was 30-something, it was fun to be carded – but now that I’m approaching middle age – leave me the $%#@! alone! LOL!

    As it turns out, I asked one day WHY they card and I was told “since each transaction is video taped – they MUST ask for ID on every alcohol/tobacco purchase to protect themselves from law suits and underage drinking.”

    And here I thought I was just a hott cougar! NOT! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. No, I’m not. « Blurt

Leave a Reply

