Skip to content

Welcome to Facing Fifty

March 7, 2009

On January of this year I turned 50.   Definitely a milestone.  I always thought 40 was old — or the age that I would be when I was “old”.  That all changed when I turned forty, married and had two more children.  What’s that saying? “Life begins at 40.”  Well, for me it certainly got more interesting.

I’d like to hear from other Fabulous Fifty year-olds, those both turning 50 this year and those who have turned 50 and would like to share how this great age is treating them.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kate Bensen permalink
    March 23, 2009 3:41 pm

    Yes, I just turned 50. I happen to share the same birthday with BARBIE! Does that mean anything? Actually, we have no similarities. While she is made from a material that never ages I am composed of a much more resilient fabric. Strength, hope, knowledge and a beauty that Barbie could never posess, kindness and empathy. As she was being introduced by Mattel at a NYC toy fair all dressed in the days fashion, I was being pulled from my dear mother(the unnatural way I might add)in a surgical suite some 200 miles north, crying and bloody I’m sure. In all my 50 years I have never worn Stillettos, furs or cashmere. I have never had a dream house, owned a Corvette, or made millions. I have however had many life experiences, all of which poor Barbie will never have. Births, deaths, unending love, disappointments and the thrill of standing on mountain tops. Stillettos and millions could never get Barbie where I have been. Fifty is fine with me. What are the options? Carry on with what you have and who you are. Make the best of what you achieve. My fabric is wrinkled but tough and colorful. Yes, I’m happy to say, the only thing Barbie and I share are our birthdays.

    • lorikk11 permalink
      March 23, 2009 3:53 pm

      Beautiful! How true isn’t it? Though we share the birth-year of this iconic plastic doll, who is so indelibly woven in many of our lives, it is far better to live and breathe (crying, laughing and loving) in these all-too human bodies we have.

      Happy Birthday Kate!

Leave a Reply

